Northlake Child Support Attorney
Known as “the city of friendly people“, Northlake, Illinois may be the perfect place to have a family and raise a child. But for parents who are divorcing, whether or not residents are friendly is the last thing on your mind. Instead, parents will need to make tough decisions about issues like child support and child custody, both of which can be divisive issues. At Gordon & Perlut, LLC, our Northlake child support lawyers can help you to understand your rights and options regarding child support, whether you are the parent seeking support or the parent from whom support is being sought. Call our team today to learn more.
Who Has to Pay Child Support in Northlake?
In Illinois, both parents have a duty to provide for their child financially, regardless of what the parents’ marital status is. When parents divorce or separate, the court assumes that the custodial parent is providing for their child by virtue of having custody and, as such, the non-custodial parent will be ordered by the court to make recurring support payments.
For How Long Is a Parent Obligated to Make Child Support Payments?
A parent is obligated to make child support payments in most cases until the child turns 18 years of age, graduates from high school, or in the event that the child emancipates themselves from their parents. Note that in some cases, a support payment may continue past the age of 18/high school graduation. For example, if the child has a disability, parents may be expected to provide support past the child reaching the age of majority. And don’t forget college; both parents can be ordered to assist with college expenses.
How Is Child Support Calculated in Northlake?
In Illinois, child support is calculated using the “income shares model”. This means that both parents’ incomes are taken into account in calculating a joint support amount, and then each parent is responsible for supporting their child/paying that amount in proportion to their income. For example, consider a situation in which jointly, parents pay $10,000 per month, with custodial parent A making $4,000, and non-custodial parent B making $6,000. If the parents have one child, then child support guidelines published by the state of Illinois hold that the child is entitled to $1,445 in child support per month. The custodial parent would be responsible for 40 percent of that because they contribute 40 percent of the parents’ total net income per month. The noncustodial parent would then be responsible for 60 percent of that, or $867 per month.
Learn More About Northlake Child Support
If you are a parent in Northlake who is divorcing and have questions about child support, our Northlake child support lawyers at Gordon & Perlut, LLC can help. Call our team today or send us a message to request a consultation at your convenience. We work on a variety of family law matters, including child custody cases, too.